๐Ÿ’… Matte & Shiny Quilted Nails ๐Ÿ’…

Hey Guys

Quilted Nail Art 1

It’s AGirlNamedEgypt and I’m FINALLY back with a Nail Art Tutorial, I can’t believe how long it has been since I last posted a Nail themed post which I’m really sorry about as I kinda started this blog as a way to show to my nail art and I really loved doing it, But over this past year I have just neglected a lot of things ( I did a small twitter rant here about it ) and didn’t really have time or the inspiration to do anything but slop on a coat of plain colour ย BUTย I am trying to get back into my life and really organise and keep on track of everything.

So, Today I’m going to be easing back into the Nail Art pool with super easy but eye-catchingย Matte & Shiny Quilted Nails


What You Will Need

Quilted Nail Art

Base Coat

( ^ I’m using Sally Hansen Double Duty Top & Base Coat, Which I highly recommend ^ )

Black Nail Polish

( ^ I’m using L.A.Girl ^ )ย 

Matte Top Coat

(^ I’m using Sally Hansen Big Matte topcoat ^)

Shiny Top Coat

(^ You can just use a regular top coat but I again really recommend Sally’s Big Shiny Topcoat, It dries SOOO quick and is virtually smudge proof ^, unfortunately since making this post my thoughts on this shiny top coat has changed, Although it does dry super fast and is pretty strong it has been leaving parts of my nails matte and quite a few bubbles, It only happens sometimes so I will still be using it but I will be on the look out for a new top coat. )

Striping Tape

Small Russian Nail Scissors

(^ Any Simplynailogical fans here ๐Ÿ˜‰ ^ )


Start off like always with a base coat to protect your nails and to keep your nail art staying as long as you want, I also got a small bottle of Nail Envy & Chip Skip by OPI and I do think they work really well with keeping them on just DONT try to peel off your nail polish if you’re wearing Chip Skip.. Trust meย ๐Ÿ˜ต

Quilted Nail Art

Normal vs. SHINY

Once your base is dry apply your black polish to every nail, Apply thin coats, leave to dry and repeat 2-3 times, Dont forget to polish the tips of your nails by using a very little amount of polish of your brush and sweeping it lightly across the tips of your nails to keep your polish from chipping longer.

Apply a top coat, I really recommend Big Shiny Topcoat and I actually applied two coats to optimise the shine and leave to dry COMPLETELY.ย ( About 15 minutes )

Now for the fun.. and time-consuming part , You want to cut strips of striping tape out ( long enough to fit across your nails with extra ), I place them on top of a nail polish bottle to store them before after my nails are dry or before i paint them as its SUPER hard to use scissors with wet nails ๐Ÿ˜….

Quilted Nail Art

I like to listen to music while I do this as it takes some time, SPEAKING of music here is my Winter Playlist that you can check out ๐Ÿ˜‰ #Plug

Now you can start placing the tape like ^, You can make the “diamonds” as big or as many as you want but I liked them like this.

Press the tape down to make sure the matte top coat wont seep beneath and once its all on apply your Matte Top Coat to all your nails and peel off the striping tape, I find it easier to peel them off the opposite way you put them on or else they might smudge a little.

Leave them to dry and your all done ๐Ÿ™‚

Quilted Nail Art 6

LOVE these

You can of course use this technique anyway you want with any colours or even just as an accent nail, I personally really love these and LOVE the contrast of the finishes ๐Ÿ™‚


I hope you enjoyed my first in a LONG time Nail Art post and if you want you can leave me some ideas of nail art you would like to see me do in the comments AND if you recreate this feel free to tag me me on any of my social medias below as I would LOVE to see your creations ๐Ÿ™‚

P.S. I know my nail art posts are a little longer than most and maybe I go into depth with a lot of the steps but I really like doing that because when I started doing Nail Art most of the posts were really basic explanations like “Stripe your nails with blue ombre ” and I was like “WAT?” I just like explaining things so if there are newbies to the nail art world I hope my posts help with the fine details of Nail Art ๐Ÿ™‚

Till Next Time

AGirlNamedEgypt

ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย ย Instagramย  –ย Twitter –ย ย Bloglovinย  –ย Pinterest ย Tumblr
Holla at me ;-)

